Options

Total NooB Questions

gratefulJEDgratefulJED Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited January 24, 2012 in Sports
I love photography and am getting better but am still in the confused state. I have been designated soccer photographer, and the lens that I have and use with my Nikon D7000 is the 18-200 3.5 zoom. I have found that I want a little longer than 200 for those shots in the land of farfar away. So my questions - Ken Rockwell fan here and he say that the 70-300 4.5 is no good for sports - not fast enough. I guess that would also rule out the 80-400 4.5 as well. While the 70-200 2.8 is obviously a great lens I don't get any longer than what I already have but I would get better pics than with my 18-200. Money of course is a consideration so that rules out a 400mm 2.8.

I am showing my ignorance, but can my camera make up any difference between 4.5, 3.5 & 2.8? Maybe I should just run up and down the field like the kids. Thanks and please don't fall out of your chair laughing.

Comments

• Options
    Moving PicturesMoving Pictures Registered Users Posts: 384 Major grins
    edited January 19, 2012
    I find 70-200 is reasonable for soccer. You can't cover the whole field, so you must either go to the action or have the action come to you.

Alternately, unless you're shooting night games, f4.5 should be fine.
    Newspaper photogs specialize in drive-by shootings.
    Forum for Canadian shooters: www.canphoto.net
  • Options
    johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    edited January 19, 2012
    Let me put it in simple terms: 200mm is good for about 25 yards of reach if you want quality photos. For full field soccer, that's not very much. It makes soccer a more difficult sport to cover than say American Football where you can follow the line of scrimmage and thus the action. So, you have to be VERY patient with a 200mm lens.