I want a digital SLR/movie camera and don't know where to start.

GunfixxGunfixx Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited January 26, 2012 in Cameras
:scratch
Howdy,
I stumbled upon this site a long time ago, and kept it in the back of my mind.
I recognize a few names from another site I've visited, but really that is un-important.
I am willing to spend up to a grand on a camera (less glass) in order to obtain something that will provide me both excellent stills and excellent movies.
I am very capable of research, but thought it good to hear from users.
I'm not a pro but I do expect high quality for my budget.
Am I on the right track narrowing myself down to Canon only?

Thank you

Comments

• DigiScapesDigiScapes Registered Users Posts: 71 Big grins
    edited January 19, 2012
    Gunfixx wrote: »
    headscratch.gif
    Howdy,
    I stumbled upon this site a long time ago, and kept it in the back of my mind.
    I recognize a few names from another site I've visited, but really that is un-important.
    I am willing to spend up to a grand on a camera (less glass) in order to obtain something that will provide me both excellent stills and excellent movies.
    I am very capable of research, but thought it good to hear from users.
    I'm not a pro but I do expect high quality for my budget.
    Am I on the right track narrowing myself down to Canon only?

Thank you

Take a look at the Nikon D7000 as well ($1199 body only). released late last year, inventory levels are pretty low everywhere but it's very highly rated on both fronts. I'll be getting one after taxes. I already shoot Nikon so I'm sticking with it. I know the Canon 7D ($1599) (its closes competitor by the specs) is also a very nice camera but costs a few hundred more. If you're looking at price alone the Canon 60d ($999) is closest.
    Brian -
    Digi-Scapes | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest