Options

New Sports Photographer needs Critique

zSCOTTzzSCOTTz Registered Users Posts: 169 Major grins
edited January 27, 2012 in Sports
I just got started into photography. I bought a Canon 7D in February of 2011. I love shooting sports, and I am still learning alot about photography and how to use the camera. I was wondering if anyone who has been shooting sports for awhile could critique my sports pictures on my web site and give me some feedback so I can learn what I am doing wrong, or right. Thanks for your time.

www.mapesphotography.com is the website with my sports photos.

Scott.

Comments

• Options
    xchangxxchangx Registered Users Posts: 47 Big grins
    edited January 23, 2012
    Looks like a lot of the shots were from the stands, no? If so then get field level and shoot low looking up at the player. Always get a ball in the picture at peak time, along with faces. It also looks like your white balance may be off on some of these. I'm at work on a non-calibrated monitor so I can't be certain.
  • Options
    edited January 23, 2012
    Yeah, alot were in the stands, wasnt sure if I could go down to the field, but now I know I can. I have alot of pics with the ball in the air, but I didn't like the background, or maybe something was a little out of focus. You are probably right about the white balance, I dont know anything about it, I have that set on auto white balance. A year ago I didn't even know what a DSLR was, and I am just now getting kind of comfortable with settings on the camera. I shoot in manual mode. The college and pro games I can't be on the field, so those are always gonna be from the stands. Ill put some with the ball in the pics on here to see what people think.
  • Options
    edited January 23, 2012
    Ill put some pics on here I didnt think were good enough to good on my web page, as I am using that as my portfolio. Let me know what you guys think, on how I could improve, or maybe how to set a white balance.
  • Options