Options

Q for Real Estate Photographers

jmphotocraftjmphotocraft Registered Users Posts: 2,987 Major grins
edited February 7, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
When do you normally get paid for shooting a house? Up front? Net 30 days? After the house sells?

I have a non-paying client. I've been shooting r-e for 3 years, but always the same agency, so I'm wondering what "the norm" is in the industry.
-Jack

An "accurate" reproduction of a scene and a good photograph are often two different things.

Comments

• Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited February 6, 2012
    I will apologize in advance but posts like this drive me nuts.

Is this a client who hasn't paid you in three years, or is this a client who has paid you in the past but is not currently paying you? If the client has paid you in the past when and under what terms did they pay? If they are now not paying what is the stated reason for non payment?

Sam
  • Options
    r3t1awr3ydr3t1awr3yd Registered Users Posts: 1,000 Major grins
    edited February 6, 2012
    What does your contract say?

Hi! I'm Wally: website | blog | facebook | IG | scotchNsniff
    Nikon addict. D610, Tok 11-16, Sig 24-35, Nik 24-70/70-200vr
  • Options
    edited February 6, 2012
    I'm not sure why you need all that info to answer this simple question - you shoot a house, you send a bill. When does it get paid? I'm just wondering if it is normal for the photographer to have to wait until the house is sold before we can expect payment. i'm thinking not. Whether or not the house sells, or when, does not seem like a risk we have to accept. Surely if the agent wants the house painted or staged in order to sell it, they will have to pay for that service within a normal term like 30 days.