Options

First try at Head Shots

RacinRandyRacinRandy Registered Users Posts: 187 Major grins
edited February 8, 2012 in People
C&C is appreciated as this is my first attempt at headshots.

well here we go!

1)
i-G3z4FDK-L.jpg

2)
i-XfcHXvc-L.jpg

3)
i-bPcjkmn-L.jpg
Randy

EOS Rebel XS Digital/ EOS 7D/ EOS 6D
50mm f1.8/ Tamron 70-200 f2.8 is/ 24-105 f4L
Canon speedlights and Alien Bees

Comments

• Options
    slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,194 Major grins
    edited February 7, 2012
    What's the purpose of these headshots? Actor? Model? Singer? I don't know what your market requires of headshots in your area, but these wouldn't fly in Texas for any of these uses. The cluttered background plus the tank top are no-no's for a headshot. The first two poses are fine, but the third one should be pitched--the angle is not flattering, plus the cleavage shot is generally inappropriate for a headshot. Our Agency would probably accept either of the first two shot IF the background were less cluttered and the blouse were different.

Just my $.02.

Sherry
  • Options
    divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited February 7, 2012
  • Options
    fjcvisualfjcvisual Registered Users Posts: 201 Major grins
    edited February 7, 2012
    I agree with all of the comments above.

having said that, you achieved a catch light in her eyes which is nice. This appears to be a single light setup based on the harsh shadows on the right side of her face. I would suggest three. The key light seems appropriately set, but also you should have a lower power light to camera right to soften the shadows. With the contrast in her hair, you might also want to put a hair light behind and above the model camera right. How much power would be based on the color of the background, which, if it were me, would be a solid color.