Options

help with some post processing

ohmkohmk Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited February 24, 2012 in Finishing School
I was debating getting a metal print of the image below but decided I should probably post here as to get some ideas for post processing. I'm an amateur so any advice would be fantastic...and I still have the raw file! :)

http://dustmust.smugmug.com/Travel/USA-Roadtrip/20306177_Jn7VNz#!i=1605629281&k=rNL4fzw&lb=1&s=A

Comments

• Options
    PeanoPeano Registered Users Posts: 268 Major grins
    edited February 22, 2012
    Nice shot, but it needs more careful processing in Camera Raw and also in Photoshop. I obviously
    was working with the low-res jpeg, so you should be able to get even better results starting with
    the raw file. The horizon also appears to need leveling.

view3c.jpg
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,697 moderator
    edited February 22, 2012
    I was there February 2009.. That is looking north from the Meteor Crater, isn't it?

I thought it looked familiar.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    MarkRMarkR Registered Users Posts: 2,099 Major grins
    edited February 23, 2012
    The image is pretty low contrast, which is fine if that's your vision for it.

However, by setting a white point and black point, you increase your tonal range, and get an image similar to what was presented by Peano above. Most people will prefer the wider tonal range to the original.

What is your ultimate vision for this picture? What elements are you trying to emphasize? Minimize? Where are you trying to draw the eye? Are you more interested in color or shape? These are some of the questions that should inform your PP.
  • Options
    edited February 24, 2012
    Peano wrote: »
    Nice shot, but it needs more careful processing in Camera Raw and also in Photoshop. I obviously