Premiere Pro import jumpy

ClixphotoClixphoto Registered Users Posts: 228 Major grins
edited February 26, 2012 in Video
When I import video into Premiere Pro, it plays with a lag, or kinda jumpy. Anyone know what the problem might be. I'm very new to video.

Wes

Comments

• Dan7312Dan7312 Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
    edited February 26, 2012
    It may be that the system you are running on doesn't have enough memory to do the rendering fast enough. When its playing jumpy can you see if your disk light is blinking. If it is you might need more memory.

For example my premiere system has 12GB of memory and a 4 core, hyperthreaded processor and I've not noticed an jitter.

In premiere after you import a clip you can play it directly. Is that what is jittery when you play. After you have played once is it smooth after that?

Clixphoto wrote: »
    When I import video into Premiere Pro, it plays with a lag, or kinda jumpy. Anyone know what the problem might be. I'm very new to video.

Wes
  • ClixphotoClixphoto Registered Users Posts: 228 Major grins
    edited February 26, 2012
    Thanks Dan. I actually had not rendered the clip before trying to play it. After I rendered the clip it played fine. I am trying to learn how to use the program and the manual is way over my head. I need a glossary of terms. I don't even know what rendering is actually. Or a sequence, bit rate, HD-SDI, timecode, assets, and in or out points for that matter. I need a tutor.

Wes
  • Dan7312Dan7312 Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
    edited February 26, 2012
    What kind of input are you using?