Options

First Wedding - Story and images

SnaphaanSnaphaan Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
edited April 7, 2012 in Weddings
This is kind of a follow-up thread from this one. I had come here to dgrin for some advice on my first wedding shoot. I'm a landscape photographer that's been dragged into this very reluctantly and after this ordeal I must say it's every bit as nerve wrecking as I've heard.

This is my gear:
Canon 1100D with kit lens (18-55mm)
Canon EF 50mm 1.8 II
Olympus PEN E-PL1
320EX with diffuser
tripod
Lots of memory cards and Batteries

And here's the story...

This whole day reminded me of my first karate competition 10 years ago. I was nervous as hell. The first moment I climbed into that ring I left almost everything I learned outside and went in like some Viking berserk. All I thought of was I just need to hurt this guy more than he's gonna hurt me. I lost but at least I learned something.

First, I want to make it clear. I'm not very social and not always comfortable around people. So you might understand my hesitation, delays and quite frankly messed-up approach to specific problems.

Everything happened quite fast. When we arrived at her mother's husband/boyfriend home I was quickly shown around the place and then everyone started getting ready, except the grandpa. He went to watch TV.

I started shooting this and that but after a while got more and more focused. That E-PL1 was quite handy sometimes. It was light and easy to handle so I just popped a number of photo's from weird angles. No one really paid attention to it. I guess it wasn't as 'in-your-face' as the 1100D (not that it is a big either). But it's not a camera I will ever take with me as a backup - EVER AGAIN. More about that later.