Options

I Don't Get $200.00 price Difference in Lens??

Diane SDiane S Registered Users Posts: 101 Major grins
edited November 4, 2005 in Cameras
I'm a newbie to the Canon 20D and to DSLR's in general.
I purchased the 17-85 lens with the 20D.

What I 'need' now is a lens for lowlight 'candid portraiture' shooting.
The Canon 50mm f/1.4 USM autofocus is $304.95 with the rebate, BUT the 50 mm f/1.8 autofocus (NOT USM) is only $80.00 .

Is the MAJOR price difference worth it? I have heard the f1.8 does just a good a job in lowlight. Does anyone know if the $80.00 will do the job?

thanks for the help. Diane
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.dianeschafer.com

Comments

• Options
    GraphyFotozGraphyFotoz Registered Users Posts: 2,267 Major grins
    edited November 2, 2005
    Diane S wrote:
    I'm a newbie to the Canon 20D and to DSLR's in general.
    I purchased the 17-85 lens with the 20D.

What I 'need' now is a lens for lowlight 'candid portraiture' shooting.
    The Canon 50mm f/1.4 USM autofocus is $304.95 with the rebate, BUT the 50 mm f/1.8 autofocus (NOT USM) is only $80.00 .

Is the MAJOR price difference worth it? I have heard the f1.8 does just a good a job in lowlight. Does anyone know if the $80.00 will do the job?

thanks for the help. Diane
    Personally I want the Tamron Super Performance 90mm f2.8 for portrait and macro work. Around $450 but worth every penny I hear!
    Canon 60D | Nikon Cooloix P7700
    Manfrotto Mono | Bag- LowePro Slingshot 100AW

http://www.graphyfotoz.smugmug.com/
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 2, 2005
    Mostly plastic lens on the f/1.8. A good peformer and value. The 50 f/1.8 is a fine lens, give it a try.

I use the 1.4, it's mostly metal, much more durable, and at f/1.4, brighter.
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited November 2, 2005