Options

Ethics in submitting sports photos

AceCo55AceCo55 Registered Users Posts: 950 Major grins
edited March 13, 2012 in Sports
I am an amateur sports photographer in a small country town. I submit photos to our local paper each week. Do you think it is OK to do some (minor?) cloning in a submission to make it "cleaner" with less distractions?
For example:
* clone out a small flag/marking cone in the background?
* clone out a foot or elbow of another player (not involved in the play) that is left in the edge/corner of the frame after a general crop?
* your football photo is not level - sloping horizon. When you rotate it, there is a small wedge of blank canvas left in a corner. Is it OK to fill that blank area in with a clone of some other grass in the scene.
... or would these be ethically wrong as it doesn't depict the scene as captured?

If it is OK to make minor adjustments, where is the line drawn? ... what is considered "acceptable" and what is not?

A little while ago I came across a website of "Top 15 manipulated photos":
http://listverse.com/2007/10/19/top-15-manipulated-photographs/

These are pretty significant changes to the "reality" of the original. So I am wondering if there is ANY leeway in making local changes to a photo submitted to newspapers? :dunno
My opinion does not necessarily make it true. What you do with my opinion is entirely up to you.
www.acecootephotography.com

Comments

• Options
    Moving PicturesMoving Pictures Registered Users Posts: 384 Major grins
    edited March 10, 2012
    AceCo55 wrote: »
    I am an amateur sports photographer in a small country town. I submit photos to our local paper each week. Do you think it is OK to do some (minor?) cloning in a submission to make it "cleaner" with less distractions?