Options

UV filters

ecphotomanecphotoman Registered Users Posts: 109 Major grins
edited March 24, 2012 in Cameras
I've never used them before, but i just purchased a brand new camera and a few lenses and want to keep them in new condition lol. I know that some people use UV filters to protect their lenses. What I'm wondering is, do they affect the way your photo's turn out?

Comments

• Options
    T. BombadilT. Bombadil Registered Users Posts: 286 Major grins
    edited March 23, 2012
    ecphotoman wrote: »
    I've never used them before, but i just purchased a brand new camera and a few lenses and want to keep them in new condition lol. I know that some people use UV filters to protect their lenses. What I'm wondering is, do they affect the way your photo's turn out?

They can have a negative effect on image quality. Buy high quality UV filters and the negative effects are minimized, but not eliminated.

You will find strongly held opinions on both sides of this question. Many will tell you that you are foolish not to protect your expensive lenses, others will tell you that it is foolish to put a piece of flat glass in front of your expensive lens (just the fact that it is flat can be a problem, even when made of high quality glass).

If you think about what risk you are mitigating, the answer is easier. Clearly, in a high wind situation in the Sahara you are well served by covering your lens with a UV filter (that will probably be discarded after your visit). For walking around in less extreme environments it might make more sense to leave the UV filter off. The filter protects your lens from a direct hit that is strong enough to scratch, but not strong enough to break the filter (if the filter breaks, it will likely damage the lens). The front element of the lens is much stronger than the filter - so some hits that would break a filter might not harm an unprotected lens.