#100 Antique Dolls -- First Attempt

slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,209 Major grins
edited April 16, 2012 in The Dgrin Challenges
First off, I want to thank Greg (ghinson) for helping point the way to a tutorial to help me get close.

This is my first attempt at ever doing a vintage look image. I kind of like it, but I'm still not sure I have 'distressed' it enough. :dunno I would certainly appreciate any and all feedback on the processing and the image itself.

i-Fpn5br2-L.jpg

I took this picture on a day my family took a "wildflower road trip." Even though the focus of the day was on catching some of our awesome wildflowers this year (and I'm proud to say I found some good ones!), we stopped by the Sauer-Beckham living history farm (at the LBJ State Park near Stonewall, TX). I wasn't really thinking about this challenge this day, but doggone if something didn't just drop in my lap!! Here I am on a farm that is depicting the 1910-1918 era and lo and behold...I find these dolls in the display of the child's bedroom and fall in love. :ivar

Thanks for looking & offering any feedback.

Sherry

Comments

• CHANDLERJACHANDLERJA Registered Users Posts: 400 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2012
    I love this shot! Great ageing and subject IMO! thumb.gif

I love the LBJ State Park! Went out looking for wildflowers this weekend myself. I usually roam around Washington County. While they are not great this year they are 100% better than the nothing we got last year :)
    Jeromy
    http://snaptx.smugmug.com/
    Light is everything in life and photography.
  • slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,209 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2012
    Thank you so much Jeromy! I really, really, really appreciate the feedback.

The wildflowers were thick & plentiful around Burnet, Marble Falls, Johnson City, & Stonewall. This was the best I've seen them in a long, long time. I took tons of pictures & probably should post some in one of the other sections.