Options

I told Andy I'd report...

JimFuglestadJimFuglestad Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
edited November 6, 2005 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi,

A few weeks ago I was approached by a local art consultant wanting to use my photos for a successful boutique law firm in downtown Minneapolis. I've sold plenty of fine art stuff at the personal level, but I was walking a new path with this.

I wasn't at all sure how to price this stuff since I've never worked with corporate clients before. To complicate, I was working with an art consultant who would be marking up the stuff in addition to what I was charging.

I ended up approaching it similarly to how I began my portrait and wedding business, but with a bit more aggression - to start out a bit lower than I could have in order to get the work out there and generate business. Please take note, this is a strategy, not a way of doing business.

These were big prints for a client that I knew could afford it, but at the same time I don't want a sliding fee structure, so I needed to price it accordingly.

The sale was for:

1 30x40 (20d shot)
4 20x20 (20d shots)
5 24x36 (Three 5 mp Sony 707 shots and 2 Canon 10d shots)

Here they are (I know, the 20x20's look very very small, lol)
IMG_6544%20proof.JPG

I suppose the suspense is killing you. How much did I sell them for? I had them all printed at WHCC on metallic paper and ended up with just shy of $4,000. I'm still not sure what the market bears here, but I am now working with the art consultants on another project. No guarantees, a bit on spec, but we'll see how it plays out.

Anyway... I talked with Andy about this when it was going on and I said I'd report back how it ended up. The open house at the new offices are next week so maybe I'll grab a few pics with them up on the walls.

Jim
Live with intention.
Walk to the edge.
Listen hard.
Pratice wellness.
Play with abandon.
Laugh.
Choose with no regrets.
Appreciate your friends.
Continue to learn.
Do what you love.