Options

Shooting a Band ( concert )

jmp2204jmp2204 Registered Users Posts: 197 Major grins
edited April 25, 2012 in People
Hi Folks , I just obtained permission to photograph a live band(a recording artist) ,It will be my first attempt at shooting a band in a concert light situation .I will likely rent a lense to do this .what should i go after for a lense . ( I shoot a T2i) yes i am a novice , but a guitarist of 34 years . any advice would be appreciated . I currently have an 18-55 70-300 is and 100 2.8 macro

Thanks !!

Comments

• Options
    Mike BishopMike Bishop Registered Users Posts: 51 Big grins
    edited April 23, 2012
    As summer comes in and the weekends warm up enough that I'm happy to hang out in Nashville and do a lot of saterday night photography, I can only hope to start getting a lot of hands on experience at shooting bands in the venues. As for now, I've still got little experience in these types of places so what I say can really be taken lightly.

My favorite lens for night is my 28mm 1.8. (on APS-C cameras) It's wide enough to let me get where the action is to take shots and it's fast enough to do the job. The 50mm 1.8 is a must have lens for anyone that is short of a fast lens in their collection. of my lenses, this would be what I would use if photographing a band were my priority since some space is needed.

In your case, the 100mm macro might be the perfect lens for the situation. The 2.8 should be plenty fast enough as long as you have a lit stage and the focal lenght would be great so you don't have to be right where the action is. This lens should be able to get some great Bokeh when singling out band members for some shots also. The downside is that that long focal length might make the depth of field to shallow at the aperture you need to get a proper exposure when going for whole band shots.