Options

Website feedback welcome

HelvegrHelvegr Registered Users Posts: 246 Major grins
edited May 24, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
I've been tooling on my website on and off for a long time and thought it was time to get some feedback from those of you more experienced with the website side of photography. First if I may let me clarify a few things to give some context as to what I'm trying to achieve with the website and what I am not.

What I'm trying to achieve:
1. I really want to explore new things with photography and see where opportunities may take me. While I'm not a professional, I don't want to look like somebody that doesn't take their hobby seriously.

2. I wanted a blog that I could use at the very least as a journal of my own discoveries. I don't expect to have a lot of readers, but I'd like the information to be well organized.

3. I want a place to serve as a portfolio of my work. Even though that portfolio is rather slim right now, I feel that by having a portfolio, it will challenge me to improve on it.

What I'm not trying to achieve:
1. I'm not looking for a lot of SEO type of things. I'm not expecting random people to find me and what to hire me. Pretty much all the traffic to the site will be because of word of mouth, Facebook, G+ etc.

2. I don't want to look like something I'm not. I'm not trying to fool people into thinking I want to be hired for work. However, like I said, I want to stay open to new opportunities and projects that will improve my skill.

A couple of questions:
One thing that I go back and forth with is how I've got the domain structured. Is it better that people hit my portfolio first, and then have to click for the blog? Or do you like it how it is, where you hit the blog, but then click the portfolio? Some people I've seen also do totally separate domains for this. Thoughts or suggestions?

Ok, if you actually read all of that, you are ready for the link!

www.garrinball.com
Camera: Nikon D4