Options

Image value?

M38A1M38A1 Registered Users Posts: 1,317 Major grins
edited May 23, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
First off, I'm not what I'd even remotely call a professional photographer. I do not shoot as my primary source of income, nor do I really have illusions of doing so. It's the people that make shooting hard for me, so shooting static subjects like products, staged shots and such are much easier for me and I accept that.

That said, I DO have an increasing number of people commenting on some of my work they wish to use in various formats for various purposes. Some are simply night skyline shots and others have been staged shots I've put together. Some are just really nice portraits of their pet. But I have these friends who want to use them for flyers, presentations, personal wall-hangers and the like. What I'm saying is, I work hard at the shots, they come out nice and people want them but I'm not a professional.

All I've been asking is they credit me as the photographer since these are friends. But having hung out here long enough, as much as they are friends and I want to help them succeed at what their project is, I think there's some value in what I'm providing as well as trying to reinforce the thought that there is value in what professional's do for a living and not continuing a thought process that everything should be for 'free' just because you know the guy that shot it.

So how does one value an image for use in this context? I'm sure there are non-professionals who stick there head in here with much the same questions, so I really look forward to your input!

Here are a couple examples of shots I've been approached for and just given away.

This one by several people for brochure material and a banner page on a camera store website:
DSC3311-4-L.jpg