NEFvsTIFF

WayupthereWayupthere Registered Users Posts: 179 Major grins
edited June 30, 2012 in Cameras
So I am doing something I almost never do..reading the manual for a new piece of gear :huh
I had always ASSumed that the best/largest/most complete data for a picture was the NEF uncompressed 14 bit data option.
But I stumbled across a table showing file size for the different options. It shows:
NEF uncompressed 14 bit= 50.6 mb
TIFF =73.5mb
So the TIFF is bigger..by a lot.. and there for better/more file info/ect? :scratch
Gary

Comments

• Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited June 23, 2012
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• BradfordBennBradfordBenn Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited June 23, 2012
    My understanding, and I am not an expert on the subject, is that a TIFF has to use a different amount of metadata as compared to a specific camera RAW (NEF) file. As the RAW file will be opened specifically by a program that has the metadata to decode and understand the picture data. A TIFF is almost like a BMP in that it is an open standard and as a result carries much metadata to explain itself to any program that wants to open it.
    -=Bradford

Pictures | Website | Blog | Twitter | Contact
  • WayupthereWayupthere Registered Users Posts: 179 Major grins
    edited June 23, 2012
    Thanks for the reply's.
    Gary
  • Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited June 23, 2012
    Nikon's offering of the TIF format is mostly just a throwback, and an indication that the camera is a high-end pro camera. Honestly there are practically zero reasons to use the TIF format as opposed to the NEF format; you'll get far better image quality out of a properly processed NEF file in a cutting edge RAW program such as Lightroom 4...