Options

CFA Football Game

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited July 5, 2012 in Sports
I had the opportunity to shoot a CFA (California Football Alliance) league football game.

OK... so first of all, I want to go on record with the fact I have never shot a sports event. Ever. I was kind of out of my comfort zone with this. I shoot other stuff so I know my way around a camera but this was very different than the static stuff I shoot so please keep that in mind when viewing these.

I'm posting these in hopes that you guys that shoot this stuff can help me improve. Overall, I'm pretty happy with what I got but I'd like to improve and there is always room.

Few things about how I approached this from my own intuition, since I have no experience. Maybe you guys can see some mistakes I made in my approach:
  • The game was at high noon and there was absolutely no cloud cover. I knew lighting, especially since the uniforms were white vs. black, was going to be rough. I went with matrix metering since spot or center weighted would have metered mostly for the white uniform. I'm not too disappointed with how they turned out from that respect.
  • I shot in Aperture priority thinking that I would maintain a fast shutter due to the bright conditions. I mostly shot at f/5.6 or lower to isolate the action. The more static shots were shot at f/2.8. I was just too afraid to miss focus shooting the action that wide open.
  • I got myself on the field. I tried to shoot from various heights. Some were shot standing but a lot were shot crouched down or even laying on the ground. I also tried to move around the field as much a possible. I followed the ball and tried to shoot from from different perspectives to add interest.