Options

Major newbie needs help picking a camera

Pinksummer27Pinksummer27 Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited July 5, 2012 in Cameras
I'm looking for a camera that can capture my one year old son who never sits still. I'm always getting blurry photos. I'm a very amateur photographer but really enjoy it and want a camera that I can learn on. I have a canon sx110 that's great but want something that's more professional. My budget would be 1000$ max. I would like to stay with canon as I have a 350$ credit at a retailer near me that only sells canon. Any help is graciously accepted!!

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,909 moderator
    edited July 3, 2012
    A $1000 budget is a little restrictive for a new system purchase, but purchasing used can be an affordable alternative.

Part of the problem with active children photography is that the closing rate can be faster than that of a Formula 1 race car (because of the close proximity.) What this means is that you really need both a sports capable camera body and a sports capable lens in order to get a high keeper rate. The addition of an external electronic flash can give more effective motion stopping through a very short flash duration.

In Canon, of which I am most familiar, I can recommend a Canon 40D body as the minimum capable of some sports/action qualities, and you should be able to get something pretty affordable.

The lens is potentially more problematic. The Canon EF 85mm, f1.8 USM is fairly capable in terms of rapid autofocus, but it's pretty tight for most indoor situations. In some ways this is a good thing as it allows for some intimacy with the subject. It's also within your budget as a purchase, new or used.

An EF-S 17-55mm, f2.8 IS USM is potentially a better choice, as it's very responsive and quick to focus, but it alone will kill your budget, even used. It is vastly more flexible for indoor use, if you can expand your budget.