Options

DNG Confusion

RoanMtnManRoanMtnMan Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited July 17, 2012 in Digital Darkroom
Hey Folks,

I getting close to my whit's end today. A publication has requested me to submit some photos for the possibility of publishing in upcoming issues. They have asked that I submit two folders, one containing low-res edited JPGs (simple) and one folder containing the same files in DNG format. I have never worked with DNG before and am having trouble figuring out how to export an edit version in DNG format. I successfully converted all of my RAW files to DNG and then imported them to both CS4 and Aperture. However for the life of me I cannot get these exported in DNG format with edits. Am I just a novice, misunderstanding the request, incompetent. I am somewhat new to the print world. Any help would be very very much appreciated.

best to all,

Caleb

Comments

• Options
    HelvegrHelvegr Registered Users Posts: 246 Major grins
    edited July 16, 2012
    Well, one of the nice things about the DNG format is that all the data can be stored inside the DNG file, without needing an XMP sidecar if you were sticking with the original proprietary raw format like .NEF or .CR2. So I think that request at least makes sense in that they want the original RAW file, in a format where they only have to manage a single file.

Unfortunatley, I'm not familiar with Aperture. If you were using Lightroom and you had a DNG file that you made a bunch of changes to you could simply select the file(s) and go the the Metadata menu and select "Save metadata to file". This would take your modifications and RAW edits and push those changes into the DNG file itself.

I'm assuming when you talk about your edits you mean edits to the RAW file, and not like Photoshopping you had done to the converted RAW file. As for Aperture, I'd look for maybe a similar option, to save your meta data to the file?

Sorry, can't be of more help.
    Camera: Nikon D4