Options

Questions on the PW Mini and Flex

HelvegrHelvegr Registered Users Posts: 246 Major grins
edited July 20, 2012 in Accessories
So I'm trying to decide on some radio triggers, and and thought I was all decided on getting a couple of PW Plus III to use with a simple speedlight. However some additional thinking has me looking at the PW Mini and Flex system. A couple of questions for people that may use this system.

1. With a mini on my camera, and the flex attached to a single speedlight, I know I can do TTL, which is one of the benefits of the system. However is it possible to control the flash manually from the camera? I've never done this before. I really like the idea of using manual instead of TTL, but having the ability to control the power from the camera and not run back and forth to the speedlight.

2. If I were to introduce a 2nd speedlight, and add another Flex, would I then have to add the AC3 controller to my mini in order to control the power of the speedlight? Let me be more clear, I assume I need the AC3 to control the power to flashes in different groups, but if all the flashes were to fire at the same power, could I skip the AC3?

3. Just so I'm clear, the PW plus II/III can't do high speed sync right? So if I had any interest in using faster shutter speeds, I'd have to go to a TTL solution like the mini/flex?

I think those are the main questions. I was set on the simplicity of the PW Plus III, because I tend to use manual flash. However, then I starting thinking about how nice it would be to not have to keep running to the flashes to change the power.

Your thoughts are appreciated.
Camera: Nikon D4
Lenses: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 VR II | Nikon 24-70 f/2.8 | Nikon 50mm f/1.4
Lighting: SB-910 | SU-800

Comments

• Options
    NagoC50NagoC50 Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins
    edited July 18, 2012