Options

AI Focus/AF Points missing w/EFS 17-85mm lens

pmartin4665pmartin4665 Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited November 22, 2005 in Cameras
Greetings:
I recently purchased an EOS 20D kit (EFS 18-55mm) and the EFS 17-85mm lens. When I switch lenses I notice that the AI Focus/AF Points no longer appear with the EFS 17-85mm lens - what am I doing wrong? I've re-read the manual for the camera and the EFS 17-85mm lens but cannot resolve this issue.

I know it is probably some obvious, glaring omission on my part however, I'm new to this camera and the ability of changing lenses (I previously had an Olympus E20-N) so please display your mettle when you reply to this newbie!

Thank you for your attention to this matter. I look forward to your reply.

Comments

• Options
    Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited November 13, 2005
    First thing I'd check is which autofocus setting you have the camera set to, and then which point. My manual is not immediately to be found, but on the 20d you can switch between using all or just one focus point and then you can switch which focus point you are using. You do this with the back right buttona nd the toggle. (Boy I wish my manual were handy and I could use the right jargon).
    Anyway, that is where I'd start.

ann
  • Options
    Eric&SusanEric&Susan Registered Users Posts: 1,280 Major grins
    edited November 13, 2005
    Are the points there, just not activating? Make sure the 17-85 is set to AF not MF on the side of the lensne_nau.gif Also check the contacts on the 17-85, if the AF points show up but not with this lens it's most likely something wrong with the lens.

Eric
    "My dad taught me everything I know, unfortunately he didn't teach me everything he knows" Dale Earnhardt Jr

It's better to be hated for who you are than to be loved for who you're not.

http://photosbyeric.smugmug.com
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator