Options

Help

ipatryipatry Registered Users Posts: 81 Big grins
edited August 3, 2012 in Sports
Hey guys,
Im new to the photography world. I'm still learning a lot but I purchased a canon t3i. Its a good little camera for a relatively cheap price. I've been taking photos of my brother playing all stars baseball for little league. I have a canon efs 55-250mm lens with image stabilizer and all that stuff. It also has a rocket fish uv filter I picked up for cheap. This is the photo I took of a kid on my brothers team rounding first.

It looks better but I took this picture off of my facebook. I did a little editing to it. Cropped it to just his body. I would like to get a relatively cheap lens but with more power to get a clear shot of their facial expressions such as this kid. Any tips or anything would be appreciated. As of good settings, lenses, how to take pictures better. I believe on this photo my shutter speed was at 1/800, Aperature was at 5.6, and ISO was at 100. Thanks I hope I can get some help!

Comments

• Options
    jmphotocraftjmphotocraft Registered Users Posts: 2,987 Major grins
    edited July 25, 2012
    You should be able to get some winners with that combination. You will also get a number of deleters like this one, but that camera can do better than this. It really looks like your shutter speed was nowhere near as fast as 1/800. And at that time of day at ISO 100 and f/5.6, I don't think it would be. Shoot with your lens wide open (in this case f/5.6) and increase your ISO until you get shutter speeds faster than 1/500, at least. 1/1000 is good. Use AI Servo AF for tracking runners. Just use the center AF point and aim for the belt.

Or if they make it to the finals, you could always hire me, I'm near Portland. deal.gif:D
    -Jack

An "accurate" reproduction of a scene and a good photograph are often two different things.
  • Options
    Molotov EverythingMolotov Everything Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
    edited July 25, 2012