Options

Having a heart makes you stupid?

whoknowswhoknows Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited August 30, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi folks, hoping to get some feed back in regards to my rantings.

I am just starting out as an event photographer. As luck would have it one of our historical sites in the area was in search for a photographer, I replied to the advertisement telling them a bit about myself and added a few pictures. To my surprise they asked me to photograph the event. Took well over 500 shot and after doing what needed to be done sent the historical site the photos by email. Long story short, they were very please and asked me to photograph all of their events!! Huge ordeal for some one just starting out. Oh I must add, I was so excited about this offer that I agreed to do all the events free of charge. This is fine with me, as it's a way to continue to gain more experience and hopefully exposure.

Well, it seems now that the word has gotten out that I do these events for this site for free and am being asked to photograph other events (which is great)...but they all assume that their event will be free as well.

I also do portrait photography. No set prises as everyone has different situations. No reason why the poorer folks can't have a photo shoot done too..right? Well, now I have folks asking me to book dates for them to do a shoot, then once again assume that I will do it for free or dirt cheap. They also feel that because I have a heart that they can call me up an hour before the shoot and cancel. Which is what happened today..which is the reason for writing this..which is the reason why I'm pretty peeved!!

I have 5 events coming up next month. Not one of them are paying!!! One event is being ran by an old friend. Another a charity run. The others at different historical sites.