Options

Getting pro experience but no interest in being a pro

FergusonFerguson Registered Users Posts: 1,339 Major grins
edited August 21, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
I work full time in a non-photographic field, and have no intent to ever make a penny doing photography.

I am a serious amateur with good gear and a fair amount of experience, but what I lack is real feedback, the kind you get as a working pro from either customers or better still your boss. Especially contemporaneous feedback such as "no, go stand over there" or "what do you think you are doing".

I've read numerous postings about wedding second shooters (and why they are too much trouble for most pros to accept "want to learn" volunteers), but am wondering what alternatives you suggest.

I would be very happy to assist someone at sports or other events (preferably NOT weddings, better anything event oriented like sports), and retain no rights and expect no pay, just to gain experience. And safe experience, as I won't show up the following month after their business.

I've written to local newspapers, but never had a message returned at all. Though I did have a magazine cover once, from someone who saw a shot, so they can't be all bad.

I'm even willing to pay to get such training (though swapping effort for training is much more appealing).

Is it a viable path? How would one start if so?

Or am I off the wall for wanting such an approach.

PS. If someone has time and cares to look to judge whether I have the skills to even consider helping a pro, here are recent events shot for fun: here. I welcome honest opinions even if just "keep practicing, no one wants that in their business".

Comments

• Options
    BlakerBlaker Registered Users Posts: 294 Major grins
    edited August 19, 2012
    Ferguson wrote: »