Cannon 60D everyday lens?

OwlLove22OwlLove22 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited August 30, 2012 in Accessories
Help!!! I purchased a 60D and have a macro lens...Im a beginner and have a strong passion for photography...What lens would be an appropriate everyday lens? Using it for...low light indoor,kids playing and self portraits? :)

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited August 29, 2012
    The Canon EF-S 17-55mm, f2.8 IS USM is an extremely nice standard zoom for Canon crop 1.6x/APS-C camera bodies, including the 60D.

A more affordable, but a bit less IQ and no IS, is the Tamron SP 17-50mm, f2.8 XR Di II LD IF. Yes, there is a version with image stabilization, but I do think that the non-stabilized version is a bit better optically.

Indoors, I highly recommend using a flash with a focus-assist light, and adding an appropriate flash modifier. The focus-assist light makes a tremendous improvement in AF speed and accuracy, and it improves your keeper rate.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • OwlLove22OwlLove22 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
    edited August 29, 2012
    Thanx I appreciate the feedback what would u suggest starting at the lowest price but yet good quality to the best lens for what I'm looking for. It's my secondary lens and although I do want good quality it's nice to know what I can start at to work my way up
  • supermarvin76supermarvin76 Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
    edited August 30, 2012
    If you are looking for the absolute best quality for the absolute least money, I would suggest looking into a Canon 50mm f/1.8.

If you are able to afford to spend more, I would suggest looking at the Sigma 30mm f/1.4. I recently bought this lens and I love it.

It's been a while since I owned it, but if you are looking for a decent price zoom, I would suggest looking for a used Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8.