Needing an SLR

whoknowswhoknows Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited August 30, 2012 in Cameras
Hi everyone!

I purchased a Canon T50 film camera last weekend at a yard sale. Excellent deal I hope. Paid $50.00 for the whole package. The camera, film, filters, video telephoto lens (?), 28-210mm lens, 3.8-5.6,
50mm lens, 1.8.
[SIZE=+0][/SIZE]
I photograph events and use a Fuji HS10. Love the camera, get awesome shots with it. It’s time to upgrade I think.

Is there an SLR Canon that is compatible with these lens?
[SIZE=+0][/SIZE]
If not. What Slr camera would you suggest? I don’t want to have to sell the house to buy one, or have a nervous break down trying to figure everything out. Something straight forward, excellent quality images, large sensor, ( only because I was told to go for something with a large sensor).

I personally wouldn’t say I’m a beginner. I do take a pretty good shot. At the same time wouldn’t consider myself a pro. No formal training. All self taught.

Thank you for your time.

Linda.
http://eventphotographybylinda.weebly.com

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,067 moderator
    edited August 30, 2012
    whoknows wrote: »
    ... Is there an SLR Canon that is compatible with these lens?

Canon film cameras, like the T50, use an FD lens mount, and modern Canon digital cameras use an EF and (sometimes) EF-S lens mount. FD mount lenses will not mount or work on a modern EF or EF-S mount camera body. (There are converters available but they don't work.)

I presume that you are interested in a camera suitable for weddings and events.

In Canon, the least that I can recommend is a Canon 40D or 50D, purchased as a used camera. Both have a very nice AF section, and the image quality from both is similar. In a new camera, the least I recommend is a 60D. Sadly, it lacks a PC flash connection, but otherwise it has very desirable features.