Autofocus Question

Randy LawsonRandy Lawson Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited September 6, 2012 in Sports
I am new to sports photography. I have read some great tips on several of the threads so far. I have a Nikon 300s and will be shooting a 70=200 2.8 For both gym and stadium work what auto focus settings work best C or S and what number of points of focus?
Randy

Comments

• KMCCKMCC Registered Users Posts: 717 Major grins
    edited September 3, 2012
    I only use a single focus point, the center one when shooting in the landscape orientation and the one directly above the center when shooting in portrait orientation.

Kent
    "Not everybody trusts paintings, but people believe photographs."- Ansel Adams
    Web site
  • perronefordperroneford Registered Users Posts: 550 Major grins
    edited September 3, 2012
    I am new to sports photography. I have read some great tips on several of the threads so far. I have a Nikon 300s and will be shooting a 70=200 2.8 For both gym and stadium work what auto focus settings work best C or S and what number of points of focus?

Shooting sports? AF-C for sure. Either single or 9 point. 9-pt will often lock faster than single. Especially in poor lighting conditions..
  • jwwjww Registered Users Posts: 449 Major grins
    edited September 3, 2012
    Either single or 9 point. 9-pt will often lock faster than single. Especially in poor lighting conditions..

9-pt will work, but also depends on your subject. Like soccer, it may snag the person next to the person you were really wanting due to a bit more contrast in that area. I like single point for human sports subjects and 9-pt at times for auto sports, especially smaller cars in larger groups as your framing might change from what you first intended due to the action.
  • jheftijhefti Registered Users Posts: 734 Major grins
    edited September 3, 2012