Beginner question and correct behaviour

roscowgoroscowgo Registered Users Posts: 127 Major grins
edited September 14, 2012 in Sports
Hey all, like the thing says, I am a raw beginner. I want to shoot everything I can, practice practice practice.

For things like sports I'm planning on attending some hs football games, and the local semi-pro baseball games. Especially once I get some longer glass. In the meantime I want to get some feeling for motion stopping.

There is a local skate park where hooligans on boards hang out, but I don't know how to go about not weirding people out.

Just show up and start shooting from a bench on the sidelines? :dunno People come and go from there all the time, as well as a playground for kids. If I stop to ask everybody I'm never going to get any actual shooting done.

Comments

• perronefordperroneford Registered Users Posts: 550 Major grins
    edited September 12, 2012
    Maybe you should take a ride up to Charleston, where you won't freak people out so easily. :)

When I wanted to shoot at the local park, I watched for a while, found a couple kids with some skills, and asked if I could shoot them for a bit.

You might also try asking a coach if you could shoot some images during football practice to get your settings dialed in.
  • roscowgoroscowgo Registered Users Posts: 127 Major grins
    Thanks. thumb.gif

I was just worried about bein the weird guy with the camera going click happy and interfering with whatever groove they were in.

It would make me nervous if someone was pointing one at me while i was trying to have fun.
  • johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    OK, a couple thoughts based upon your posts:

First: trying to practice shooting sports from the stands at local HS and semi-pro events is making things too difficult on yourself. You need to be close to the action. If shooting HS, shoot freshman or JV - you're much less likely to be turned away from the field.