Options

Best Camera/Lens for <$1000

Dixie777Dixie777 Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited September 21, 2012 in Cameras
I am an amateur photographer (with computer engineering background) trying to shoot my son's soccer and baseball sporting events with a Canon PowerShot SX10IS in sports mode. Those who view my photos love them and want more, I seem to catch the emotion and excitement of the game, but I am not happy with the quality of the images. I would like crisper images, and I almost always crop them before displaying on my site and team web sites. I would like to get a better camera for shooting sports in low light (at night under stadium lights), and need a better zoom lens. Any suggestions for camera + appropriate zoom lens for $1,000 or less? Please indicate new or used.

Comments

• Options
    jmphotocraftjmphotocraft Registered Users Posts: 2,987 Major grins
    edited September 21, 2012
    You can shoot daytime sports for under $1000 with something like a Canon Rebel T3i or a Nikon D3100, with a Canon 55-250 lens or Nikon 55-200 or 55-300 lens. However to shoot night games under the lights and get results that will impress anyone, bare minimum you will need a 70-200 f/2.8 lens. Ideally you would get a better body as well. Check bhphoto.com for prices. Look at Tamron or Sigma for lens alternatives.
    -Jack

An "accurate" reproduction of a scene and a good photograph are often two different things.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,904 moderator
    edited September 21, 2012
    Daytime sports/action is one of the most demanding of photographic endeavors, and night sports are even more so. While a $1000, or less, budget might get you a fairly good entry level dSLR and entry level lens, it's going to be sorely lacking for sports.