Options

Mrs. David_S85's Book Cover Project

David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,203 moderator
edited March 28, 2006 in Finishing School
OK, this might be fun.

Mrs. David_S85 needs a cover for her new book, which is due at the publisher in a couple of weeks. I am not a graphics designer, so we'll need some help from all of you in turning this photo (or one of the 100 like this one) into an interesting cover design.

The entire photo does not need to be on the cover. The important part is her walking the labyrinth, and as much of the labyrinth and green grass we can get around her. Unlike many book covers, we don't want a closeup of the author (her there in the photo).

The book...
...is a memoir about recovery from brain injury, so we chose a shot of a labyrinth that looks like a brain (sort of), and her navigating it. You just can't easily find a brain shaped labyrinth. Luckily, we knew where a good one was. She is self-publishing the book.

The Photo:
Problems with the shoot included angles. The labyrinth was situated on a slight incline making the background a bit odd looking. There is perspective distortion (I was shooting down from a ladder) as well as barrel distortion (10mm w/ 20D). Pics shown here have already been through PTLens. The smaller tree to the left actually was tilted off perpendicular, and not only a result of perspective. Perspective might need to be dealt with, but I haven't done so yet.

A very small and compressed copy of original photo:
45059434-L.jpg
(has been through PTLens, has not been sharpened)

What needs to be included:
The title (I can't give that away, as the book is not in production yet). It is a 5 word title. There is an 8 word sub title. The author's name and the 4 word publisher's name also need to be there. The publisher's name needn't be large. None of these text strings need to be in a particular order, but should be logically laid out.

Some ideas so far: