Halloween Costumes with new speedlight

PhilD41PhilD41 Registered Users Posts: 171 Major grins
edited October 25, 2012 in People
I finally talked myself into buying a speedlight. Photography is strictly a hobby for me and I often find myself with must less time to devote to it as I would like. I have spent a few years now avoiding using the popup flash at all cost. I decided that this was probably holding by my photography more than anything so I went shopping.

These are my three girls ( my son was not up for the shoot ) in their Halloween costumes. They were already playing in them so I though I would just jump in. They were gracious enough to let me take about three shots each before the were off to play again. The shots were taken with the flash on board and bounce off the ceiling / wall. I was quite happy with the outcome although I missed the eyes on Grace (#3). Like I said, I am just starting out and have be very pleasantly surprised how this flash has opened up options for indoors photographs. Next on my list... a few stands and umbrellas... maybe even a second flash. :)

I am always looking to improve so feel free to critique as you see fit.
#1 - The Asian Princess
8111207730_4aff7567db_z.jpg

#2 - The Frog Princess (we adapted the story)
8111203411_92d6d3d00e_z.jpg

#3 - The Traditional Fairy Tale
8111208796_e4111715a8_z.jpg
-~= Philip =~-
Go Shoot Something Already! - Flickr Photostream
Have you performed a few Random Acts of Parenting today? :)

Comments

• VayCayMomVayCayMom Registered Users Posts: 1,870 Major grins
    edited October 22, 2012
    awwww these are all GREAT!! Congrats, you did good :)
    Trudy
    www.CottageInk.smugmug.com

NIKON D700
  • novicesnappernovicesnapper Registered Users Posts: 445 Major grins
    edited October 22, 2012