A few birds from Costa Rica

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited November 1, 2012 in Wildlife
I took some photos of birds during my visit to Costa Rica that I kind of like. I thought I'd share with you all to see what you think. I'm by no means an expert at this kind of photography and to be quite honest, I have no clue what type of birds any of these are so sorry for know IDs. I shot all of these with a Nikon 70-200mm on a D700 body. Not really a great setup for birds I think as I was constantly wishing I had just a bit more focal length. Since I couldn't get real tight, I tried to incorporate the surroundings in my composition.

Love to hear what you all think. Thanks for looking. Hope I didn't post to many.

i-VxWPt6c-X2.jpg

i-SX5SkLr-X2.jpg

i-32ZQ7bN-X2.jpg

i-x93htTT-X2.jpg

i-mWz9gwc-X2.jpg

i-H9Qv5qf-X2.jpg

i-53mRsVp-X2.jpg
"I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site

Comments

• SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited October 27, 2012
    They all look good but, #5 is the winner!
  • anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited October 27, 2012
    Thanks Jeff. #5 is for sure one of my favs. Not sure what type of bird that is but I saw one swimming and it doesn't do so like a duck. It's whole body was submerged and only the neck and head was above water. At first, I thought it was a snake. Then I realized it was a bird. Apparently, they sun themselves after fishing to dry off their wings. That is what this one was doing.

My Smug Site
  • PGMPGM Registered Users Posts: 2,007 Major grins
    edited October 27, 2012