Hi everyone

Mitch SealyMitch Sealy Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited January 9, 2013 in Holy Macro
Im new to photography and very new to macro. I wanted to ask some gear questions.

I know some people like reverse mounted prime lenses, some like dedicated macro lenses. What are advantages and disadvantages of the two as far as image quality, magnification, and ease of use? Im also confused when one would perform better than the other?

Ive currently got a sigma 105mm dg ex f2.8 macro, and a 28mm f2.8 wide angle. I should be getting some kenko extension tubes and reverse ring mount here shortly. Any other gear you recommend? I highly appreciate any advice and help!

Comments

• basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited December 15, 2012
    you allready have a good macro lens , start using it ( at 1:1 setting )
    if you decide you want to get closer , a set of tubes can be added
    if you re a Canon-owner , you may want a MPE65
    biggest different is the price

best advice of all , read the forum
    http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=143373
  • Mitch SealyMitch Sealy Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
    edited December 15, 2012
    Ive been practicing with the macro lens for a month or two now. Playing with image stacking and such. Ive got a set of tubes from a friend bein sent to me too.

Ive been reading the tutorials and practicing. Im excited for summer to get here again. I really wanna photography some bugs.
    edited December 16, 2012
    have you made (or bought) a diffuser yet ?

for real close-up it is almost a must
    natural light is possible , but even more difficult
    edited December 17, 2012
    Here's the macro gear im playing with now.

A home made softbox, 430ex flash, cowboy studios remote trigger (or cable if im using a hand held/flash rig), 28mm f/2.8 wide angle for reverse mounting, and my sigma DG EX macro 105mm f/2.8.

A7A55C2D-EC39-44E3-85C5-DF30D8E28D2D-13505-00000C71F379681A.jpg