Which lens for nikon d5100?

Pinksummer27Pinksummer27 Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited December 22, 2012 in Cameras
I'm new to dslr but I'd like one that I could learn on and then perhaps get a better body later on. I'm trying to decide between the 16-85mm nikon, 18-105 or 18-200. I keep reading good things and bad things about all 3. 18-105 apparently has a plastic attachment that can break easily or I'd have gotten than one already. I was all set on the 18-200 and then ill read a bad review and get apprehensive. I've just stumbled on the 16-85. I want something that auto focuses quickly. I want it firstly to take pictures of my son who never is still long and to do landscape and macro work. I'd loved to eventually move into photographing people semi professionally. Any thoughts, help is wholeheartedly appreciated. Also, I'm wondering what's better to buy: a used body or a used lens? Thanks.

Comments

• HarrybHarryb Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 22,708 Major grins
    edited December 21, 2012
    Of the 3 lenses the 16-85 is the best, the 18-105 the best bargain, and the 18-200 the most versatile. All 3 lenses have compromises attached to them quality wise. However they will serve your intended purposes. I would go with the cheapest until you need and can afford better glass. I would also take a look at the offerings from Sigma, Tokina and Tamron. For example, the Tamron 17-50 2.8 is cheaper than two of the lenses you expressed an interest in and is a much better performer.

A good review site for lenses is http://www.photozone.de/
    Harry
    http://behret.smugmug.com/ NANPA member
    How many photographers does it take to change a light bulb? 50. One to change the bulb, and forty-nine to say, "I could have done that better!"
  • MomaZunkMomaZunk Registered Users Posts: 421 Major grins
    edited December 21, 2012