Options

How to Go Pro?

AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
edited December 4, 2005 in Mind Your Own Business
Got this by email. Let's show the emailer what we know, eh?
Before I start asking you questions, let me just tell you a little bit about my self. This may sound pretty forward since we only first comunicated a couple of days ago but I beleive if you understand my situation you might be able to advise me with more ease. I'm currently a university student studying XXXXX. I bought my first digital camera a year ago (just a sony point and shoot) and I got into photography quite seriously this summer while traveling around Europe. I ended up buying a D70 kit with all sorts of bits and pieces during the summer. Since then I've been devoting more and more of my spare time to photography. I'm also begining to lose interest and am getting bored with XXXXX. I'm starting to contemplate photography as a career path. I enjoy it as a hobby but I'm not sure if I want to take it to the next level. I've read some things about professional photography and about how it's more difficult than most people think and you're not always doing exactly what you want (as the case is with most things).

I'm wondering if you could give me some advice as to some things that might help me decide one way or another and I thought that you might be able to tell me what it's like to be a professional. I've thought about getting a part time job as a photographer but currently that option isn't available since I'm an international student in YYYYYYYY and I'm only eligeable to work on campus. I've been told by several people that my work is "good enough" but I know that those people are just being polite and I need to improve not only the work but my technique as well before I can even hope to make it.
Thanks very much for your time and your help this far,

Comments

• Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited November 25, 2005