Options

3.2 Quad vs 2.4 Octo Mac Pro

morrisartmorrisart Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited January 18, 2013 in Digital Darkroom
Hi, I'm new and can't find this info in a search, so here goes. I'm taking a full time position as an editor for a Wedding Photography company, and they are going to be buying a MacPro Computer for me to use at home. My budget was set @$3,000. I have been looking but I do not what to purchase between the two I have narrowed it down from. I have been told by the apple sales rep that an Oct-core is what I need, but another at the same store has said that a quad is perfectly suited, and that if I use the money I save in order to invest in more ram, a SSD, and a secondary video, it will actually outperform it's higher priced alternative. I am not an technical expert, but I have used macs quite a bit, So I know the software. I have literally no experience with SSD's though. My bottom line question, Is it worth the extra 1200 to get the 8 core, or would I be better off investing what would seemingly be half of that in a SSD, More Ram, and second video card? The biggest reason that cost is an issue is because after 3000, which the rest is out of my pocket. Thanks for your time everyone!

Comments

• Options
    BradfordBennBradfordBenn Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited January 14, 2013
    Welcome to the fun. A couple of key questions, what software are you going to be using? What is your current workflow so that we aren't finding a solution that doesn't work with your style. For instance I love having two monitors and that productivity is worth the tradeoff to processor speed as I spend lots of time culling and little time touching up. However if your work flow is editing video and touching up shots that could be a different answer.
    -=Bradford

Pictures | Website | Blog | Twitter | Contact
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,696 moderator
    edited January 14, 2013