Options

Are Web Services coming?

3rdPlanetPhotography3rdPlanetPhotography Banned Posts: 920 Major grins
Hello Smugmug,

Love the service and the ability to interface. I'm a .NET developer and would love to see consumable web services from SmugMug. Any chance this technology is in the future?

Thanks
kc7dji

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 25, 2005
    Can you elaborate some more? ear.gif
  • Options
    edited November 25, 2005
    Thanks Andy, Sure.

I didn't go very far because I don't know what's behind the scenes at Smugmug. Web Services are available in many environments, however, I'm a Microsoft Certified programmer so I'm only familiar with the Microsoft end of the spectrum. Web Services are sorta like the API interface but with much more ease and flexibility.

With the API's my application must set the stage, send to smugmug, recieve the response then un-chunk the data from the xml format. I have been able to write a couple of generic classes that will interface with Smugmug with ease, however, moving foward the use of Web Services would make our 3rd party development much faster and more dependable (my opinion).

With Web Services basically I tell my programming environment about the Smugmug service(s) then from code I utilize that service just as it was a local class. This is awesome technology.

Thanks
    kc7dji
  • Options
    luke_churchluke_church Registered Users Posts: 507 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2005
    Hi kc7dji,

So I'm not from Smugmug, but have been hacking around with it for quite a while, writing generic wrappers and the like. I'm also primarily a .NET and Java developer.

Let me see if I can give you some unoffical context.

But first, from your post:
    kc7dji wrote:
    Web Services are sorta like the API interface but with much more ease and flexibility. [/kc7dji]