Options

Best Lens for Motorsports??

ElizaMadalineElizaMadaline Registered Users Posts: 64 Big grins
edited February 8, 2013 in Accessories
Hi Everyone,

I am a hobbiest trying to turn pro photographer and about to get my first FX camera, Nikon D600. I work for a racetrack and shoot a lot of motorsports events and would like tips are what are the best choices for lens. Since I work here, I can get closer to the action that most people so I don't necessarily need a huge amount of Zoom, although I don't want to get run over :D Also as I mentioned I am just starting out charging for my photos so my budget is tight!

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited February 7, 2013
    You do want a large lens and you do want to stay far away from the action. The go-to lenses for motorsports are a 70-200/2.8 and a 400/2.8, with the true gem being the 500/4. But if I were starting out, strongly consider a 200/2.8 or a 300/4 prime. Primes are cheaper than zooms and you'll be at max focal length nearly all the time anyway. WHen I was shooting karts heavy I ended up using a 300/2.8 nearly 90% of the time and never missed not being able to zoom. Sold that lens several years back and sorely miss it.
    Bill Jurasz - Mercury Photography - Cedar Park, TX
    A former sports shooter
    Follow me at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bjurasz/
    My Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/mercphoto?ref=hdr_shop_menu
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,848 moderator
    edited February 7, 2013
    Your best bet is to rent a few lenses until you know what distances you will be shooting from. Common focal lengths for an FX body range from 300mm to 600mm, but sometimes longer too.

I can suggest:

Nikkor AF-S 300mm f/4D IF-ED
    Nikkor AF-S 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
    Nikkor AF-S 400mm f/2.8G ED VR
    Nikkor AF-S 500mm f/4G ED VR
    Nikkor AF-S 600mm f/4G ED VR
    Nikkor AF-S 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II