Options

What am I doing wrong?

JMelloJMello Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited March 18, 2013 in Technique
Hey there,

Let me just start off by saying that I'm very new to Dgrin, and currently taking a Beginners online Course in Digital Photography. I feel that I have a good understanding of the basic's so far but there is something I can't seem to figure out right now.

My Gear:
Nikon D60 w/ Nikon DX 18-55mm (non-VR)

I want to take pictures using a high shutter speed in order to "Freeze" motion (Went to an indoor soccer game today.) , but all the pictures I take at anything higher than around 1/60 shutter speed with my widest aperture f4.8 - f5.6, comes out very dark ( Underexposed? is that right? :P ). I've tried to change my ISO higher but then the pictures become very grainy and still semi dark.

Sports mode shots had excellent exposure but they were very blurred, I guess that is because it would auto adjust to about 1/4 shutter speed.

Even taking pictures in my bedroom, I still get the same dark, grainy picture using a fast shutter speed and high aperture.

Is this a problem due to an older camera model / lens Issue or do I still need learn how to adjust my settings better?

Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated! :D

Thanks.

TL;DR Noob here. High shutter speed pictures on Nikon D60 come out very dark / grainy on high ISO / Aperture Settings.

Comments

• Options
    HelvegrHelvegr Registered Users Posts: 246 Major grins
    edited February 26, 2013
    Welcome to Dgrin.