Pixelation in smugmug jpgs?

Dynde87Dynde87 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited March 31, 2013 in Finishing School
Hi guys

I'm new to Lightroom and new to SmugMug, so I'm hoping someone can help me out (and that I'm in the right forum for this question, I was on the fence whether to put it in support, but then idk if it's actually a problem with SmugMug or just me)

I have this set of photos I took of a sunset, shot in jpg, edited in Lightroom to my liking and then published via the plugin to smugmug. My problem now is that the quality of the deep blacks on smugmug are horribly pixelated - something that is not evident in Lightroom, or if I export to jpg and open in any other viewer.

I made a public smart gallery for your viewing here:
http://www.bytewalker.dk/Category/Public

As you can see, pretty much all of the sizes generated by SmugMug has ugly pixelation. I realize some of my adjustments in Lightroom are a bit much and very dark, but I liked it and like I said it's not even a little pixelated at any size in lightroom or exported to jpg.

Can anyone shed some light on what I could do to make it look better on smugmug?

Like I said, I'm also new at lightroom, so if there's any adjustments I could make to get more consistently 'black' blacks, or smoother transitions into those 'clipped' blacks I'm all ears.

Comments

• pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,694 moderator
    edited March 29, 2013
    Welcome to dgrin.

Jpgs have limited ability to tolerate image editing steps, and Lightroom can quite powerfully modify images, even jpgs, and not always in a good way. You did not describe your image editing steps in detail, so I can only speculate about what you did.