Options

Limited Edition Signed Prints

androidtandroidt Registered Users Posts: 71 Big grins
edited May 16, 2013 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
I'm a fine art photographer and sell limited edition signed and numbered prints. My dilemma is how to sign/number the prints. I searched and found a few similar posts but they are old and I'd like some updated information on how you sign/number prints.

Traditionally prints are singed either on the mat or directly on the photo. However, if a customer orders a framed print, this is not possible without having the print shipped to me first, then taking off the backing paper, prying the nails up that hold the print and mat in place, taking the photo out, signing/numbering it, reversing the process to reassemble the print and then send it to the customer. Not a fun process I assure you. So I was thinking about just signing and numbering the print on the back. This accomplishes the task and I've seen other artists do this but I look at the signature as advertising as well as authentication. Clients also like to see the signature as it lets other people who view the photo that it is a piece of art directly from the artist and is worth more.

SmugMug has the option of adding a digital signature to the print. I really like this idea but there is no way to add the print number. Are there other fine artists who use the digital signature? What type of reaction do you get from customers? If you sell you work in art galleries, do the gallery owners have a problem with a digital signature?

My current plan is to give the customer options for how the print is signed. Customer satisfaction is paramount to me and want each customer to feel like they are getting the highest quality, limited edition piece of art that they can't get anywhere else.