Options

My thoughts on pricing

WirenWiren Registered Users Posts: 741 Major grins
edited July 30, 2013 in Mind Your Own Business
These are current thoughts and subject to change... chime in if you desire.

I have been shooting for several years, mostly landscape. I have submitted to an Art Gallery and am hopeful for acceptance.... I have been printing recently directly through Bay Roes and doing Float Mounted Metal Prints in a Wood wedge frame.... also using the Sheere Matte finish... looks quite classy!

On thinking of pricing it gets complicated... my first thought is that galleries primarily want one off's, like in paintings. They don't want photogs that will sell millions of the same print. With that thought in mind, I decided to do Limited Edition prints (which I was originally against).

So.... how do I figure my pricing.... that depends... what should I expect to make off of each photograph? The first answer is "as much as you can" - but in this respect, it needs to be a finite amount. Due to customer base, demographic regions, time and effort of each photograph, I can reasonably desire around $5,000. Why that # you ask? Let me explain......

The following is an example of one of my better prints - Pastel Dawn (as seen here)

- Obtaining image required 5 trips to location
- 45 miles one way x 5 trips equated to 10 hours of driving (rounded) and about $88 in gas (avg gas at $3.50 gallon at about 20mpg).
- At least 5 hours in Post Processing (give or take, trying different versions and tweaking)
- At least 5 hours in marketing the image (If I haven't hit it yet, I will soon and may exceed)
- I would like to pay myself at least $50/hour... that's a total of 20 hours for a total of $1,000

The Gallery takes a 25% commission on sales and printing a Float Mounted Metal Print with Sheere Matte finish in a wedge wood frame costs $355.00 + $14.50 s/h.

Figuring that I want to be around $5,000 total profit for this image, I need to price this at $1850.00