Options

Predictive color balance model

msf245msf245 Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited July 30, 2013 in The Big Picture
I’m a student at Cornell University working on a design project aimed at creating a formulaic model to predict the color temperature of sunlight at any time and geographic location in the world. Our algorithms are well on their way and we need empirical data to verify our work. Thus, we are turning to the online photography communities to help us out!

We are asking people from all around the world to capture the color temperature of direct sunlight on a, preferably, sunny day by photographing (in RAW) a white balance card pointed toward the sun. From that image, we'll determine the color temperature and add it to our growing dataset. While we want pictures taken at any time of day and sun position, the white balance card musts be placed in direct sunlight.

Please send all photos (in any RAW format) to msf245@cornell.edu and include the following information in the email:
-Location (lat/long, if possible)
-Time
-Weather description (brief: cloudy, clear, overcast, a picture would work as well)

2013-07-18%2013.14.49.jpg

Comments

• Options
    JAGJAG Super Moderators Posts: 9,088 moderator
    edited July 18, 2013
    I have moved this post from challenges to the appropriate forum.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,806 moderator
    edited July 18, 2013
    Sadly, unless you specify, or supply, a specific white target, and very specific exposure protocol (to prevent color channel clipping), the file samples you get will have limited and uncertain value.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,696 moderator
    edited July 20, 2013