Need Help with my site

dlarkdlark Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited August 8, 2013 in Mind Your Own Business
Good day everyone. I am fairly new to SmugMug. I do have a site with them, and could really use some guidance on making my site look better. I am an upcoming photographer, that has taken his hobby to the next level. I do shoots for families, etc, and post them for the people to look at and purchase. I just would like for my site to grab their attention and bring them back. Can anyone help me?
Thanks,
DLark

Comments

• SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited July 31, 2013
    dlark wrote: »
    Good day everyone. I am fairly new to SmugMug. I do have a site with them, and could really use some guidance on making my site look better. I am an upcoming photographer, that has taken his hobby to the next level. I do shoots for families, etc, and post them for the people to look at and purchase. I just would like for my site to grab their attention and bring them back. Can anyone help me?
    Thanks,
    DLark

Might help if we could see your site. :D

Sam
  • GlortGlort Registered Users Posts: 1,015 Major grins
    edited August 1, 2013
    The best help anyone could give you is to make you aware that selling off a website is an extremely poor business model that will guarantee you the lowest possible returns for your time and effort.

If you want to actually make some worthwhile money from your photography, then you need to look at other business models. The best one of all is to get back together with the people for the showing and do a professional presentation. Professional in being there to guide them, make them aware of things they won't know themselves, make suggestions, upsell and generally help them be as happy with their pics as possible.

Why this isn't peoples first thought these days amazes me. Seems everyone wants to do no more work than put the pics on the web and hope the people order some.