Unanticipated Flaring Objects

muddykneesmuddyknees Registered Users Posts: 181 Major grins
edited August 24, 2004 in Technique
Yesterday I took this view from inside a barn looking out onto a substantial expanse of clowdy bright sky (Rebel kit lens 28mm end, 1/40s, f/20, ISO 200)

(This is my first attempt to upload an image - hope it works!)

In attempting to darken the highlights and lighten the shadows using photosho's highlight/shadow dialog, not only did I "enhance" the visibility of dozens of light spots in the dark areas, but also dark spots in the light areas - the first time I've noticed this phenomenon!

So, now I'm curious about the optical explanation for all these spots under the contitions of this photo, and, of course, how in the future I can avoid or minimize or at least anticipate such a proliferation of UFO's.

Gary

Comments

• zero-zerozero-zero Registered Users Posts: 147 Major grins
    edited August 24, 2004
    That is caused by droplets of water on the front element. Looking at the mist in your pic, it's not difficult to guess where they came from. You probably didn't see them before taking the pic because they become more obvious as the lens stops down for exposure.

Lens cap on till you take the pic is the only cure you need. Wouldn't you wish all problems in life were as easy to solve? :D
  • wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited August 24, 2004
    Yeah, sure looks like water on the lens. Shame, that's a pretty scene and a nice shot. Thanks for the tip, Z-Z.
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,694 moderator
    edited August 24, 2004
    wxwax wrote:
    Yeah, sure looks like water on the lens. Shame, that's a pretty scene and a nice shot. Thanks for the tip, Z-Z.