Options

Mulitlevel drop down menu or pages?

okrkokrk Registered Users Posts: 32 Big grins
edited November 5, 2013 in SmugMug Customization
I am new to the new smugmug and i am trying to understand the use hierarchy of pages, folders and galleries. On my old site i built a multilevel drop-down menu to navigate to galleries 3 or 4 levels deep. This made a very clear clean way for users to locate specific galleries. But this is not possible on the new site. So i am trying to do a similar thing using pages and folders but i am having a hard time building a graphical system that can allow users an easy way to navigate multiple levels.

For example i have sports events that are categorized by sport-school-JV/V-boys/girls-date. Do i have to set up a separate page for each level to drill down to the next level? Or is there an easier way?

Are there any good examples for how to set up a site with this level of organization. All of the example sites or help documents only assume one to two levels of organization?

I have been experimenting with the new system with mixed results. I wish they would add multilevel menu support that would make things much easier.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    beardedgitbeardedgit Registered Users Posts: 854 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2013
    Multi-level dropdown menus can be created with the nav menu content block by nesting elements beneath others.

Have a look at http://help.smugmug.com/customer/portal/articles/1222523-customization-how-do-i-make-a-navigation-menu- and at http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=242136
    Yippee ki-yay, footer-muckers!
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2013
    There is a 2-layer limit for the left-navbar menu, but no limit for the top navbar.
    Which one did you want to build?