advice needed

AMI4UAMI4U Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited November 11, 2013 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello
Im new to the sales part of being a photographer :clap Just jumped in head 1st with SmugMug business! I shoot with a canon 7D 24-135mm kit line an 85mm L lens and My Baby 70-200 is usm II I started with sport photography just going to local games and shooting... I don't know how thats going to go but hopefully in the future these images would be sold for memories to come..But I need Money NOw I want to do kids parties I just Purchase a program call. photo key 6 green screen removal and want to do kids birthday parties would like to print on the spot and also have cheaper rates on my smugmug business.. I can use any background I choses or customer can choses just wondering a good price to set up and how much would a 5x7 or 10 should go I dont know with my ink printer yet i started with like $80 bucks in ink and 4o in paper... any advice

Comments

• GlortGlort Registered Users Posts: 1,015 Major grins
    edited November 11, 2013
    AMI4U wrote: »
    I want to do kids parties

That's nice.
    Why do you want to do kids partys? Did you think of covering them because you think it would be fun or you would like the work or is it because the research you have done so far shows this to be the most viable and profitable business in your area with the resources you have and can afford to get?
    If you want to make money as you say, you need to pick a market that there is money to be made in. Choosing something because you want to do it and it gives you the warm and fuzzies rather than basing the decision on research, facts and numbers is a good way to waste a lot of time and effort on an unprofitable venture.