Options

Softboxes with Work Lights?

PerezDesignGroupPerezDesignGroup Registered Users Posts: 395 Major grins
edited September 13, 2004 in Accessories
Look below for my $1 dollar softbox! :thumb

Question...can softboxes like these...
softboxstrip.jpg

Be attached to work lights like these...

BAYCOSL301.JPG

I should mention that the Work Lights are attached to actual Light Stands :D

I'm kinda new to the lighting thing and I'm trying to avoid a fire hazard here...:rofl
Canon Digital Rebel | Canon EOS 35mm | Yashica Electro GSN | Fed5B | Holga 35 MF

Comments

• Options
    GREAPERGREAPER Registered Users Posts: 3,113 Major grins
    edited August 25, 2004
    I dont think there would be any more fire hazard than with any other light because the modeling light on most studio strobes are the same type of incandecent bulb. (just my initial thought)

Attaching the softbox may be a bit of a trick and might require some ingenuity. The ones I have seen attach to the light via a rod that is part of the soft box structure going through a hole on the light and is held in place by a clamp built in to the light. You would have to come up with some other sort of attachment method.
  • Options
    zero-zerozero-zero Registered Users Posts: 147 Major grins
    edited August 26, 2004
    Depends on the wattage you're using. Very low wattage can maybe be sustained with only minimal warming, but anything remotely useful for photography will produce way too much heat unless you really think about a way to hold everything secure and provide active cooling at the same time. I wouldn't do it, even though I was the Emperor of jury-rigged lighting when I was a kid without a dime.