Options

Challenge #1, Still Life

NorskeNorske Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited December 14, 2013 in The Dgrin Challenges
This is my first attempt at uploading a picture (and my first challenge). I hope I get it right.

Comments

• Options
    JAGJAG Super Moderators Posts: 9,088 moderator
    edited December 8, 2013
    Hello Norske and welcome to the challenges!

My first suggestion would be to post a larger version of your image. The best size would be about 600 to 800 pixels at the widest point. If you have an online photo website that hosts your photos, such as smugmug or photobucket, you can copy and paste the html link to your image directly into the posting window here and it will show the image for you without making it an attachment.

As for the image, from what I can see, you have some shells and sand and is that a necklace with sea glass? These are interesting subjects, but the angle and maybe the arrangement could be played with more. Take some of the shells away so it is not so crowded in the image. Also panning out some so the frame does not completely fill up, rather give some breathing room.

I like the lighting you have with the shadows and lights. However I am distracted by trying to figure out what the string and glass pieces really are. Is there a way you can angle this differently and make it known what those objects really are? Is there more than one necklace? If there is, maybe only show one.

You definitely have some interesting objects here for your still life and your lighting is good. Maybe you can try some other angles and arrangements with the shells. Definitely consider using less shells. I look forward to seeing more from you!
  • Options
    kdotaylorkdotaylor Registered Users Posts: 1,274 Major grins
    edited December 11, 2013